NEW YORK VALUES & STORM PREPAREDNESS

C’MON PEOPLE!

I’m ashamed to have to do it, but I’m reblogging a post from Feb. 1, 2015. The NY Metro area should really know better by now. I thought “New York values” included playing it cool. But nah. Apparently we’re sounding the alarms, calling in the National Guard, raiding the stores, deifying Jim Cantore.

Scratch my snarkiness on that last point. When I pray to the weather gods, it’s his face I imagine.

**************

KEVIN SPACEY, TYPOGRAPHY, AND OTHER METEOROLOGICAL MITIGATORS

POSTED BY ON FEBRUARY 1, 2015 IN OPINION, SCIENCE?, SNOWSTORMS

It’s so cliché.

Snow used to be so much fun, so filled with wonder.

Now, it’s all commuter interruptions and misanthropic mumblings about the bread and milk lobbies agitating the populace into frenzied disaster prep mode. Why is that?

.

Screen Shot 2015-02-01 at 12.45.22 AM

Is meteorological hysteria natural?  Maybe gazelles hurtling across the savanna are the result of changes in barometric pressure. Or, maybe a lion is after them. I don’t know. But I’m pretty sure I know who to blame when, on the eve of a big snow, all I’ve got to choose from is off-brand soy milk and oyster crackers: Arial Black.

Yes. Arial Black.
The font.

Think about it. Does THIS headline put the fear of starvation and anarchic chaos unless you run to the store THIS. VERY. MINUTE. ?

Screen Shot 2015-02-01 at 1.10.38 AM

.

Nope. That headline looks like up next, they’ll be showing a whimsical Disney feature with delightful snowball fights, sisterly love, and a talking snowman.

But THIS headline. This will inspire you to purchase 2 backup generators, powdered milk, and a thousand pounds of beef jerky, lest you go all Donner Party on your family.

Screen Shot 2015-02-01 at 1.07.11 AM

.

Maybe fonts can’t make us do things or feel a certain way.
Maybe they can.

Maybe my anti-hysteria hysteria is blown out of proportion.
But maybe I’m just playing into the media machines’ hands.
Because maybe I didn’t go out this morning for supplies, just in case.

I’m almost out of bread and milk, but I do have the makings for enough hot toddies to binge-watch the last two seasons of House of Cards.

I may be susceptible to the herd mentality, but I do have priorities.